Eagle Owls

Sorry for any disruption and loss of service whilst these pages are migrated to the new site

Brought to you by the National Gerbil Society



Please navigate using the menus above. If you prefer, there is a text listing of NGS pages available.


[EagleOwl] [Eagle Owl]

There are many races of Eagle Owl (Bubo bubo), possibly as many as 24, ranging from the Iberian peninsular and North Africa to the wilds of Siberia and Kamchatka. Obviously, with that range it is not surprising if Eagle Owls vary greatly in appearance and behaviour from place to place. The pictures on the left are of the European subspecies of B. bubo, those on the right are of B. bubo bengalensis (The Bengal Eagle Owl) that lives in Northeastern India, Bangladesh and Assam. The Bengal Eagle Owl is much smaller and lighter in colour than the European race. The Eagle Owls of North Africa are the smallest and those of Siberia are the largest.

[Eagle Owl] [Eagle Owl]


Return to the NGS Homepage?

The views presented on this page are not necessarily those of the National Gerbil Society.

Please note that the material on these webpages is covered by copyright law. If you wish to use any pictures etc for anything other than your personal private use, such as publishing material on a website, then

This web page may include links to other web sites. These links are provided in order to enhance the interest and usefulness of other content and are not intended to signify that the National Gerbil Society, or the authors of material featured on the NGS Website, endorses or otherwise has any responsibility for the content of any linked web page, web site or other linked material.

This page has been constructed by

Telephone number for media contact only -   (+44) 07941893143


Last updated 23 August 2003